Social Justice

The Two Feet of Love in Action: Two Distinct and complementary ways we can respond to the call to put love in action

The Two Feet of Love in Action: Two Distinct and complementary ways we can respond to the call to put love in action
$0.50

From the United States Catholic Conference of Bishops comes this helpful pamphlet which addresses how we as Christians can walk a path of love by addressing the concerns of social justice and supporting charitable work in our community.

 

 

 

 

 

Dimensions: 8.5" x 5"
Sold in packs of ten. Price reflects price per pamphlet.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781601373489
0

Our Faith Teaches: Welcoming the Refugee and Migrant

Our Faith Teaches: Welcoming the Refugee and Migrant
$1.00

This colorful, eight-panel brochure on migration will foster community discussion and reflection. 

 

The “Welcoming the Refugee and Migrant” brochure presents Church teaching on hospitality to the stranger. Use it to:

Reflect on historical and biblical migration experiences,

Consider the advice of recent popes,

Look for “next steps” that you and fellow parishioners can take, and

Say a prayer to Jesus—himself a migrant and refugee—that we would be his love in the world.

As refugees and migrants flee their homelands toward new places that offer the hope of safety and security, this community dialogue is needed more than ever!

 

 

This brochure ties into the “Share the Journey” campaign in the United States, which began in late September 2017 and will go through 2019. Participants in this campaign include Catholic Relief Services, Catholic Charities USA, Caritas Internationalis, and Migration and Refugees Services–USCCB. The campaign encourages migrants and host communities to share together the communities’ stories of migration.


Sold in packs of 5. Price reflects price per pamphlet. 
ISBN/SKU: 
9781601375797
0

Solidarity with the Poor: Sharing the Tradition, Shaping the Future Series

Solidarity with the Poor: Sharing the Tradition, Shaping the Future Series
$1.00

Provides the opportunity to reflect on the call to solidarity through subthemes that include "the meaning of solidarity," "the human family and solidarity," "the responsibility of solidarity," "the work of solidarity," "and the fruit of solidarity."

Book 5 in the Faith Sharing series offers small group members the opportunity to explore Catholic social teaching on the theme of solidarity with the poor.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781574551921
Publication Date: 
1996-12-01
0
Publisher: 

Walking Together Series: Catholics and Muslims

Walking Together Series: Catholics and Muslims
$1.00
Contains basic questions and answers on how Christians and Muslims identify themselves as followers of God.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781601370099
Publication Date: 
2007-09-01
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

A Culture of Life and the Penalty of Death: A Statement of the USCCB Calling for an end to the use of the death penalty

A Culture of Life and the Penalty of Death: A Statement of the USCCB Calling for an end to the use of the death penalty
$4.00

 

In A Culture of Life and the Penalty of Death, the bishops call our nation to abandon the use of the death penalty as we move one step closer to building a culture of life.

 

As a tool for education and reflection, this pastoral statement is an effort to help Catholics better understand and apply the Church's teaching on the death penalty.

 

Pages: 24
Size: 4" X 9" X 1/4"
ISBN/SKU: 
9781574557329
0

Creating Just Language Booklet

Creating Just Language Booklet
$7.50

Excerpt from the Forward by Kathleen Ashe, OP
The 8th Day Center for Justice, with this updated booklet on language, offers a valuable tool to all who recognize that language is an instrument both of power and domination and of social transformation. The Center provides not only an excellent analysis of the role of language in shaping identity and in perpetuating harmful stereotypes, but also offers practical suggestions for "creating just language." Such language is central not only to human intercourse, but to our conversations with and about God.

ISBN/SKU: 
CJLBOOKLET
0

HUNGERING AND THIRSTING FOR JUSTICE

HUNGERING AND THIRSTING FOR JUSTICE
$9.95

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ten real-life stories, written and edited by young adult Catholics, trying to discover how they are called to carry out their faith within their daily lives. You will be both inspired and challenged by their passion, dedication, courage, and love for God and others.

Stories included are:
Asking Questions and Taking Action
Chasing a Dream in a Foreign Land
Gaining My Moral Compass
The Scandal of Our Tradition
Gory Stuff and the Virgin Mary
Seeking Peace from Minnesota to Mindanao
Experiencing God in the Struggle to Define Myself
Laying Injustice Down at the Feet of God
Justice in a Hospital Room
Remaining Faithful in a Flawed System

Ten real-life stories, written and edited by young adult Catholics trying to discover how they are called to carry out their faith in their daily lives. You will be both inspired and challenged by their passion, dedication, courage, and love for God and others.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780879464912
Publication Date: 
2012-09-15
0
Publisher: 

Renouncing Violence

product image
$16.95

Written from her deep experience in the monastic tradition, Sister Mary Margaret Funk shows us that, with faith and our given vocations, we are more than strong enough to resist and renounce the violence in the world around us. This book offers, both for personal use and for the broader community, a teaching for our troubled times, a teaching that empowers the reader to renounce violence in all its bold and subtle forms. As a concrete example, Funk retrieves the practice and symbolism of using holy water to bless, cleanse, and free us from violence wherever it is emerging--in our personal lives and in our world. This practice has thrived in the monastic tradition and has a language with a voice.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780814684597
Publication Date: 
2018-09-25
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

THE NONVIOLENT LIFE

THE NONVIOLENT LIFE
$23.99
"How can we become people of nonviolence and help the world become more nonviolent? What does it mean to be a person of active nonviolence? How can we help build a global grassroots movement of nonviolence to disarm the world, relieve unjust human suffering, make a more just society and protect creation and all creatures? What is a nonviolent life?" These are the questions John Dear, Nobel Peace Prize nominee and Pace e Bene staff member poses in his latest book, The Nonviolent Life. He focuses on three important aspects on the path toward becoming people of nonviolence - being nonviolent toward ourselves; being nonviolent to all others (including creation and creatures); and joining the global grassroots movement of nonviolence. After thirty years of preaching the Gospel of nonviolence John says he has never found a book that completely captures these crucial elements of nonviolent living. According to John, "most people pick one or two of these dimensions, but few do all three. To become a fully rounded, three dimensional person of nonviolence we need to do all three simultaneously." In this book, John Dear explores the powerful journey of nonviolence rooted in the Christian vision of love. He also offers discussion questions throughout the book making it ideal for study groups seeking to go deeper into the nonviolent life. Order your copy today and journey with John along the path of the nonviolence. Published by Pace e Bene Press
ISBN/SKU: 
9780966978322
Publication Date: 
2013-09-27
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

Tears We Cannot Stop A Sermon to White America

Tears We Cannot Stop A Sermon to White America
$24.99

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER - NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post - Bustle - Men's Journal - The Chicago Reader - StarTribune - Blavity - The Guardian - NBC New York's Bill's Books - Kirkus - Essence

"One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait." --The New York Times Book Review

Toni Morrison hails Tears We Cannot Stop as "Elegantly written and powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish."

Stephen King says: "Here's a sermon that's as fierce as it is lucid...If you're black, you'll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you're white, Dyson tells you what you need to know--what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen."

Short, emotional, literary, powerful--Tears We Cannot Stop is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.

As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice soars above the rest with conviction and compassion. In his 2016 New York Times op-ed piece "Death in Black and White," Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop--a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted.

"The time is at hand for reckoning with the past, recognizing the truth of the present, and moving together to redeem the nation for our future. If we don't act now, if you don't address race immediately, there very well may be no future."

ISBN/SKU: 
9781250135995
Publication Date: 
2017-01-17
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

Free Women Free Men Sex Gender Feminism

product image
$26.95
From the fiery intellectual provocateur-- and one of our most fearless advocates of gender equality--a brilliant, urgent essay collection that both celebrates modern feminism and challenges us to build an alliance of strong women and strong men.

Ever since the release of her seminal first book, Sexual Personae, Camille Paglia has remained one of feminism's most outspoken, independent, and searingly intelligent voices. Now, for the first time, her best essays on the subject are gathered together in one concise volume. Whether she's calling for equal opportunity for American women (years before the founding of the National Organization for Women), championing a more discerning standard of beauty that goes beyond plastic surgery's quest for eternal youth, lauding the liberating force of rock and roll, or demanding free and unfettered speech on university campuses and beyond, Paglia can always be counted on to get to the heart of matters large and small. At once illuminating, witty, and inspiring, these essays are essential reading that affirm the power of men and women and what we can accomplish together.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780375424779
Publication Date: 
2017-03-14
0
Author: 
Publisher: