Social Justice

Tears We Cannot Stop A Sermon to White America

Tears We Cannot Stop A Sermon to White America
$24.99

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER - NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post - Bustle - Men's Journal - The Chicago Reader - StarTribune - Blavity - The Guardian - NBC New York's Bill's Books

-One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait.- --The New York Times Book Review

Toni Morrison hails Tears We Cannot Stop as -Elegantly written and powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish.-

Stephen King says: -Here's a sermon that's as fierce as it is lucid...If you're black, you'll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you're white, Dyson tells you what you need to know--what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen.-

Short, emotional, literary, powerful--Tears We Cannot Stop is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read.

As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice soars above the rest with conviction and compassion. In his 2016 New York Times op-ed piece -Death in Black and White, - Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop--a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted.

-The time is at hand for reckoning with the past, recognizing the truth of the present, and moving together to redeem the nation for our future. If we don't act now, if you don't address race immediately, there very well may be no future.-

ISBN/SKU: 
9781250135995
Publication Date: 
2017-01-17
Author: 
Publisher: 

Creating Just Language Booklet

Creating Just Language Booklet
$7.50

Excerpt from the Forward by Kathleen Ashe, OP
The 8th Day Center for Justice, with this updated booklet on language, offers a valuable tool to all who recognize that language is an instrument both of power and domination and of social transformation. The Center provides not only an excellent analysis of the role of language in shaping identity and in perpetuating harmful stereotypes, but also offers practical suggestions for "creating just language." Such language is central not only to human intercourse, but to our conversations with and about God.

ISBN/SKU: 
CJLBOOKLET

HUNGERING AND THIRSTING FOR JUSTICE

HUNGERING AND THIRSTING FOR JUSTICE
$9.95

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ten real-life stories, written and edited by young adult Catholics, trying to discover how they are called to carry out their faith within their daily lives. You will be both inspired and challenged by their passion, dedication, courage, and love for God and others.

Stories included are:
Asking Questions and Taking Action
Chasing a Dream in a Foreign Land
Gaining My Moral Compass
The Scandal of Our Tradition
Gory Stuff and the Virgin Mary
Seeking Peace from Minnesota to Mindanao
Experiencing God in the Struggle to Define Myself
Laying Injustice Down at the Feet of God
Justice in a Hospital Room
Remaining Faithful in a Flawed System

ISBN/SKU: 
9780879464912

NOT IN MY TOWN

NOT IN MY TOWN
$19.99
Slavery still exists--here. Tens of millions of humans live in bondage worldwide, tens of thousands in the US. As seen recently on Fox News, Dillon Burroughs and Charles Powell bring awareness about what's happening in our nation and world. The book and DVD teach about: - Human trafficking - Sexual exploitation - Forced labor - Agricultural slavery Not in My Town answers questions and promotes discussion about the slavery system that crisscrosses Atlanta, Orlando, Las Vegas, New York, California, Texas, North Carolina, Haiti, Amsterdam, India, Cambodia, and beyond. The authors' gripping journey shocks but also motivates and provides resources to equip new generations of abolitionists from all corners of society and diverse worldviews who share the common call to stop injustice.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781596693012
Publication Date: 
2011-05-03
Author: 

A CALL TO ACTION

A CALL TO ACTION
$28.00
The world's discrimination and violence against women and girls is the most serious, pervasive, and ignored violation of basic human rights: This is President Jimmy Carter's call to action.
President Carter was encouraged to write this book by a wide coalition of leaders of all faiths. His urgent report covers a system of discrimination that extends to every nation. Women are deprived of equal opportunity in wealthier nations and "owned" by men in others, forced to suffer servitude, child marriage, and genital cutting. The most vulnerable, along with their children, are trapped in war and violence.
A Call to Action addresses the suffering inflicted upon women by a false interpretation of carefully selected religious texts and a growing tolerance of violence and warfare. Key verses are often omitted or quoted out of context by male religious leaders to exalt the status of men and exclude women. And in nations that accept or even glorify violence, this perceived inequality becomes the basis for abuse. President Carter and his wife, Rosalynn, have visited 145 countries, and The Carter Center has had active projects in more than half of them. Around the world, they have seen inequality rising rapidly with each passing decade. This is true in both rich and poor countries, and among the citizens within them.
Carter draws upon his own experiences and the testimony of courageous women from all regions and all major religions to demonstrate that women around the world, more than half of all human beings, are being denied equal rights. This is an informed and passionate charge about a devastating effect on economic prosperity and unconscionable human suffering. It affects us all.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781476773957
Publication Date: 
2014-03-25
Author: 
Publisher: